Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Jayco Jay Feather 25bh or Jay Flight SLX 267BHSW

Ruger3739
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all,

I've been camping with a 1999 Komfort Bunkhouse for the last five years and it's time to upgrade. I am towing with a 1/2 ton truck so weight is a concern.

I really like the 2018 Jay Feather 25bh but I'm concerned with the "foam" /non plywood floors. I take really good care of my stuff and plan on keeping the new rig for a long time. Is soft floors in this model a legitimate concern?

If it is a real concern I would consider the Jay Flight SLX 267bh. I know this is a "cheaper" model but it does have the plywood floors.

The white hawk and standard Jay Flight don't have a floor plan and weight I am comfortable with.

Any words of wisdom? I'm I over thinking this and should just go with the Jay feather I like?
11 REPLIES 11

TomG2
Explorer
Explorer
The floor construction on the two models that the OP is considering is the same. 5/8" plywood. Jayco does make some 7' wide models like the 154bh's that have a composite floor. Not a factor for the OP.

The difference in the two models is not structural, but represents upgrades like medicine cabinets, etc.

Mike_Up
Explorer
Explorer
GrandpaKip wrote:
There are a lot of campers with composite floors that have never had a failure. If it was a pervasive problem, you would hear about it more often. I would say that I have heard just as many concerns with soft plywood/OSB floors as with composite. And I would guess that the vast majority of both are due to water intrusion.
If you plan on keeping it a long time and do the required maintenance, this really should be of little concern.

The problem is you are walking on styrofoam compared to a piece of wood. Even with no water damage, the foam itself breaks down and leaves a spongy floor. If you're okay with that, fine, but many aren't and rebuild their floors using real wood.