Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Advice on deep cycle setup?

JohnnyGood
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,

I have a Safari van that I've converted into a camper.

I replaced the starting battery with a Duracell Ultra Dual Purpose (Starting/Cycling) Battery that cost $105 (got it at batteries plus).

I'm running a multi-cooker (700 watts) with a 600 watt inverter (yes, I realize that there's a difference, but it seems to work fine (?).

I want to get another deep cycle house battery, as it seems to max out the battery after 5 minutes of use (the inverter starts beeping).

Does anyone have any suggestions on batteries to get, or how to rig this up? I'm a contractor and have some experience with electricity, but I don't understand all the ins and outs of a deep cycle power setup / battery power etc.'

I also want to get a heater installed for minimal use: http://www.my12voltstore.com/DC_Thermal_SA12_2000_12_Volt_Turbo_DC_Heater_p/sa12-2000.htm

Any tips welcome!

L
362 REPLIES 362

JohnnyGood
Explorer
Explorer
Hello All,

Another update - I did find a nice little cabin out in the woods that I'm moving to next week, and may be building out another solar system there or moving this one (or parts of it) to the cabin ...

Yours,

L

JohnnyGood
Explorer
Explorer
Hello All,

My apologies for not updating this thread in a more timely manner.

Back in May, I used the goop to seal up the battery. See pictures. I didn't do the precise process suggested by Mex - I couldn't seem to get that to work - so I just gooped it on the cracks. That seems to be holding.

Also, I did finally find a regular/permanent place to live (in a house), which has taken the "load" off my battery project etc.

I don't think I'll install the new alternator after all (may sell on ebay), as I think the panels + stock alternator are generating more than enough juice for my now occasional load.