Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: DirecTV Error 775 Problem communicating with DIsh
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > DirecTV Error 775 Problem communicating with DIsh

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next
CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/24/18 09:14am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bill.Satellite wrote:

That is a message that indicates that either you have a bad coax or the antenna is going to need to be returned to Winegard for repair/replacement of the electronics inside the base.
That's one reason I prefer the RF Mogul dish. The electronics are inside a nice easy to reach dry cabinet. About the only thing on the roof is motors and gears. And it's not necessary to send the dish in for repairs.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42 Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar MPPT 60 Controller
2004 Honda CR-V

Bob


Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/24/18 12:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just replacing cables. Start with the cable from the LNB to the turret.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

Belgique

Hickory, NC

Senior Member

Joined: 09/17/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/08/18 06:09am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Didn't want anyone to think I posted and disappeared. We've been on the road a lot so trouble shooting has been delayed. Changed Coax where possible. Had 27 volts everywhere it is supposed to be. Changed the LNB.

Gave up and called Winegard. Very nice and knowledgeable lady had me do tests and had me take pictures of the arm. Her colleagues didn't like how it looked so they sent me a new arm assembly: everything from where it mounts to the turret on one end and the LNB on the other. No joy. 775 and the antenna searches and searches.

They discussed it and (as Bill predicted) decided to send me a new turret. It is on the way. I hope to get it mounted before next Wed when we move again. Hope this works.

Oh, it is under warranty. No charge for anything. They paying to send the current turret back. I'm very happy with Winegard. I'll update when turret installed.


Hickory, NC
2007 Fleetwood Discovery 40X


mikestock

Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2002

View Profile



Posted: 02/08/18 07:33am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If my receiver is on while the Traveler is finding the satellites I always have to reboot before it works.

Also, and you probably already checked, I have had my receiver reset itself from SWM to multiswitch, causing this error, 775 (I think). The receiver doesn't see the LNB, in this case.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/08/18 08:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

mikestock wrote:

If my receiver is on while the Traveler is finding the satellites I always have to reboot before it works.

My HR44 receiver waits for the dish, rarely more than 3 minutes and at times less.

Also, and you probably already checked, I have had my receiver reset itself from SWM to multiswitch, causing this error, 775 (I think). The receiver doesn't see the LNB, in this case.

I haven't experienced any receiver status changes and I don't recall any with my prior HR24 (which has both multiswitch and SWM).

It's worth noting that the boot time for the HR44 is significantly less than the HR24.

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/08/18 10:02am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My receivers are never off and I have never had to reset a receiver after the Trav'ler finds the satellite. Now, that means the receivers are also on while traveling so maybe you mean that your receiver(s) are off while traveling and turn them and the Trav'ler on at the same time. Is that it?

mikestock

Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2002

View Profile



Posted: 02/08/18 02:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Both the PI and the receiver are powered by the inverter when traveling. I set up at a campsite and let the Traveler lock onto the satellites. My receiver never gets powered off and will not do anything except display the DirecTV screen saver bouncing across the screen even though the Traveler box says it is locked onto 99/101/103 so, instead of sitting and waiting I push the red button. Maybe if I just sit and wait long enough it may eventually come on. I never tried. I have learned to press the red button before I even try to watch tv

I have had problems in the pre-Traveler days when I was manually setting up the dish. I would get "can't connect to lnb", signal and then realized the receiver has changed to multiswitch on its own. I have had it happen several times through the years. I never had a reason to change it myself, because I use nothing but SWM at home or in the RV.

Had to come back and edit what I said about never using anything but SWM. Back when I had my King Dome I had to set it up as multiswitch and single line. The following may be the only circumstance where the problem occurred.

When going back to the Slimline 3 SWM I would change the setup to SWM and align the Slimline 3. My alignment meter would tell me that I had all good signals and would come back inside to see that the receiver could not find the LNB. That's when I would find that the DVR had switched itself back to legacy. The same thing occurred when going the other way, i.e. SWM to the Dome.

* This post was edited 02/13/18 09:07am by mikestock *

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/08/18 03:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Maybe the results depend upon the receiver model and the length of time that it has no signal.

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/09/18 05:01am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have recently had a similar problem with my Genie but it is not Trav'ler related. I have the HR-54 so it might be software related. In any case, I get a message "resolution not supported" and then it goes to the bouncing logo. However, if I just use the remote and change channels a couple of times (channel up 2 times, etc.) the picture pops on and I then go to the desired channel. No more problems. This happens almost every time I turn off the TV as my Harmony remote also turns off the receiver (not shut down as it still records). Maybe I will change that setting and see if that problem goes away.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/09/18 07:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bill, Does your TV power on with a resolution that is supported by the HR54?

I ask because I know that when I move my HR44 from house/RV it automatically detects the TV resolutions which are both HD and supported but different. This is accomplished with the HDMI connection. ie No channel switching required.

In my case that is a complete power off/on of both TV and receiver. Perhaps you could try that and see if the problem persists instead of leaving the receiver always powered on.

I'm getting the sense from this thread that leaving the receiver on with no sat signal has some minor side effects. That's not something I generally do but one of the great aspects of DVR receivers is the ability to watch recorded shows when in the trees and that works for me as expected.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > DirecTV Error 775 Problem communicating with DIsh
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS