cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2018 SuperDuty DRW - 3.55 or 4.10 Gears?

BradW
Explorer II
Explorer II
We are close to ordering the following:
2018 XLT DRW F-350 SuperDuty Powerstroke, 4-door, 4X4

It will seldom be driven empty. It will primarily be used to haul a 4,000 lb truck camper while towing a 7,000 lb jeep/carhauler. Total weight of truck camper and jeep/carhauler will be right at 18,000 lbs. Quite a bit of our towing will be in the mtns.

Our current truck is a 2006 F-350 DRW PS 6-spd manual with 4.10 gears. I luv the 4.10 gears on that truck with the manual tranny. But I'm afraid 4.10 gears will be too low on the 2018 with an automatic, but they don't offer 3.73 gears and 3.55 seem too high for 18,000 lbs. I've never owned a tow rig with an automatic tranny, so I have zero experience in that area.

It appears that Ford only offers 3.55 or 4.10 gears in 2018 truck we want. Anyone have any suggestions on which gear ratio? I'm not tremendously concerned with fuel mileage because we will likely be driving the truck less than 6,000 miles per year. Probably will not be exceeding 68 mph while interstate driving.

Thanks for any help,
BradW
Wake Up America
2019 Lance 1062 and 2018 F-350 CC PSD 4X4 DRW
Tembrens, Rear Roadmaster Sway Bar, Torklift 48" Extention and 30K Superhitch
Our New Lance 1062 Truck Camper Unloading at Dealer Photos
49 REPLIES 49

shum02
Explorer
Explorer
4x4ord wrote:
shum02 wrote:
Westcoasting wrote:
BradW wrote:
Travlingman wrote:

4.10 DRW
6th gear: 70 = 2067

Finally got hold of a friend of mine who has a 2017 DRW F350 PSD. I thought he had the 3.55 gears, but it turns out he has 4.10 gears. He confirmed about 2050-2100 rpm at 70. I can live with that. So I will be ordering the truck with 4.10 gears.

Thanks all who submitted info on this thread, I'm sure there will be many people benefit from the info.

BradW