cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Advice for Long Distance Towing

ChristyFord
Explorer
Explorer
My husband, toddler, 2 dogs, and I will be taking a 2 week road trip cross-country (Augusta, GA to Seattle, WA) with an SUV and TT. I've read mentions of how this kind of trip should be handled differently than a weekend trip to the lake. What kind of things do we need to know and keep in mind in this case?

Note: my husband and I have no experience towing a TT yet, so lay it on me!
68 REPLIES 68

silverfz
Explorer
Explorer
ChristyFord wrote:
Grit dog wrote:
Iโ€™m guessing their whole point is to have a RV to use in AK.

Yes, we're planning on using our TT as much as possible while we're living in Alaska. Also, our move is for a military PCS, so most transportation costs, including shipping truck & trailer on a cargo ship from Seattle to Anchorage will be covered.

If transportation cost is covered. i will rent a Class C/A and ride in style till seattle. Purchase your travel trailer / truck and ship it.

You can stop anywhere use the fridge - eat lunch,feed the toddler food, change a diaper and bathroom even in a no service rest area. You also will be running A/C and Heat you will avoid opening the slide into a HOT or Cold travel trailer to do the above. the transition from driving to camping is a few minutes. Even on a rainy cold day , you uptime to camping to driving is minutes.

Even on rest areas, when you stop you can unclip your seat belt . With the dogs, put them in a big crate with there bed and even let them a bit of freedom.

good luck have fun.
2014 avenger 28 bhs
2008 Toyota tundra crew max
guarded by bear the mini dashound
running from payload police edition

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
JBER or Eilson?
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

ChristyFord
Explorer
Explorer
Grit dog wrote: