Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: canadian satelitte tv
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > canadian satelitte tv

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Danpatter

Kingston

New Member

Joined: 02/04/2018

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/04/18 12:19pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Does anyone know if Shaw will work in the southern US? Retiring this fall and we are planning on wintering in the southern US.

Ed_Gee

Central Oregon coast - Winter in AZ

Senior Member

Joined: 01/14/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/04/18 12:27pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Danpatter wrote:

Does anyone know if Shaw will work in the southern US? Retiring this fall and we are planning on wintering in the southern US.



There’s dozens, if not hundreds, of Canadians here at our park in Southern Arizona watching stuff back home with their Shaw satellite systems.


Ed - on the Central Oregon coast
2018 Winnebago Fuse 23A
Scion xA toad

Fizz

Ottawa, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 07/28/2003

View Profile



Posted: 02/04/18 12:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This topic has been flogged to death.

Short answer...
Yes it will work on the two older satellites but not with the third newer HD satellite.
You will receive the HD channels that are on the two older ones.

lovetotow

ontario

Full Member

Joined: 05/14/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/04/18 12:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A number of years ago shaw changed their satelites and made that option dificult, if you have a second account you might be lucky and your shaw will work but no hd. Because shaw is based in alberta it works in arizona but florida not so well


Dale & Lynda
2018 ford F250 4x4
2011 cruiser 32bl 5th wheel

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/04/18 02:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

lovetotow wrote:

A number of years ago shaw changed their satelites and made that option dificult, if you have a second account you might be lucky and your shaw will work but no hd. Because shaw is based in alberta it works in arizona but florida not so well


Not sure any part of this is correct. Shaw works great in the US as well as Mexico.
Bell Express is no longer a viable US option but Shaw users are pretty happy. Not sure when you plan to retire but this could all change any time Shaw chose to do so.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

Fizz

Ottawa, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 07/28/2003

View Profile



Posted: 02/04/18 03:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Here we go yet again.

READ MY LIPS!

Shaw works well down south.
When the old satellites die all programming will be switched to the new satellite. This newer one does not extend it's footprint south of the border.
Till then, enjoy Shaw down south.

MACHZER

Clandeboye

Full Member

Joined: 02/23/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/04/18 03:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bill.Satellite wrote:

lovetotow wrote:

A number of years ago shaw changed their satelites and made that option dificult, if you have a second account you might be lucky and your shaw will work but no hd. Because shaw is based in alberta it works in arizona but florida not so well


Not sure any part of this is correct. Shaw works great in the US as well as Mexico.
Bell Express is no longer a viable US option but Shaw users are pretty happy. Not sure when you plan to retire but this could all change any time Shaw chose to do so.


Are you sure No Bell in Southern US?


Clandeboye , Manitoba

GREGORYJ

Lac Du Bonnet, Manitoba

Senior Member

Joined: 06/26/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/04/18 09:47pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bell satellite does not work in the US other than within 100 to 200 miles of the Canadian border.


Ellen & Greg
08 National Dolphin DL-35Ci
Workhorse W22 FMCA # F431548


Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/05/18 04:53am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MACHZER wrote:

Bill.Satellite wrote:

lovetotow wrote:

A number of years ago shaw changed their satelites and made that option dificult, if you have a second account you might be lucky and your shaw will work but no hd. Because shaw is based in alberta it works in arizona but florida not so well


Not sure any part of this is correct. Shaw works great in the US as well as Mexico.
Bell Express is no longer a viable US option but Shaw users are pretty happy. Not sure when you plan to retire but this could all change any time Shaw chose to do so.


Are you sure No Bell in Southern US?


Yes.

myredracer

Langley B.C.

Senior Member

Joined: 04/27/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/05/18 08:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A larger dia. dish can sometimes help. You can look up footprint coverage maps on the internet for the Anik sats at 107.3 degrees and 111.1 and see if a larger dish than you are using now is recommended for where you will be staying.

I've been able to get Bell 82 as far south as the WA/OR border with a 24" dish and had good signal S & Q. I have a 36" dish I will take the next time we go farther south and see how far it will work. Getting a weaker signal takes more careful aiming with the larger dish though and can be frustrating. I've been looking for a 10' dia. mesh dish for home but would be great fun to take RV-ing, lol... [emoticon]

Bell HD channels are on Nimiq 4 at 82 degrees but what I don't like is that the program guide is on their other sat at 91 degrees and you can't prerecord anything either. I prefer to use just one LNB to make setup easier and faster and don't need to bother with skew.


I hate CAPTCHA. CAPTCHA sux. CAPTCHA is evil. CAPTCHA needs fixing.

Gil, Deb & Dougal the Springer Spaniel
2014 KZ Spree 262RKS, Reese DC WDH
2009 F250 super duty, V10, 8' bed, Hawkshead TPMS


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > canadian satelitte tv
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS