Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Cummins 330 ISC
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
wtmtnhiker

New Hampshire

View Profile

Posted: 02/07/18 08:44am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a 2005 HR Ambassador with a Cummins 330 ISC and Alison Trans with about 65K miles. I'm the 2nd owner with all the service records so I know it has been well maintained. I know the basic engine and trans have allot of life left but I wonder about the peripheral stuff like air compressor, alternator, water pump, injector pump etc. Are there any component failures that are at all predictable by age or mileage? Any pattern type failures that are known to occur? I recently replaced the exhaust manifold and turbo. The manifold cracked, really not entirely sure I needed the turbo.

bgbassman(bluegrass bass man)
2005 Holiday Rambler Ambassador DP
2012 Chevy Equinox Toad

ScottG

Bothell Wa.

View Profile

Posted: 02/07/18 08:52am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Manifold cracking is very common on that eng. Otherwise just make sure you replace the FF per schedule or even much more often. Once it plugs it will take out the inj. pump fast and it's stupid expensive.
I would carry a spare and replace it immediately (stop on side of road) if you ever feel a miss or buck.
Other than that, it's very reliable.

Scott, Grace and Wesly
2003 Dodge 3500 4x4, 6 speed Cummins (lightly bombed),
2018 Silver Fox 32A - many mods to come!
H0NDA eu2000i

wolfe10

Texas

View Profile

Posted: 02/07/18 09:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator