cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Jeep Wrangler JKU and Blue Ox Alpha

MetalGator
Explorer III
Explorer III
I have been towing our Jeep Wrangler JK 2 door for several months now with a Blue Ox Alpha tow bar. My wife has a Jeep JKU 4 door and I recently had a base plate installed on it. This way, we can take either Jeep depending on the trip. I towed the JKU for the first time this weekend and I was startled when I was pulling out of our storage area. I have to make a sharp turn and I looked at the camera and I could not see the front corner of the Jeep. I stopped and went to the back of the Motorhome and I still had about 2 feet or so before the Jeep would have come in contact with the motorhome. It looked much closer on the camera!

I am just curious to hear from other Alpha and JKU owners to see if they have ever had an issue with a sharp turn with this setup. When I tow the JK with it's shore wheelbase, I can always see the front corners of the Jeep in the camera.

Burch
2018 Miramar 35.3 Motorhome
3 fur kids (Monty, ZuZu and Pinto)
Rainbow bridge (Murphy, Petie, Lola)
7 REPLIES 7

dubdub07
Explorer
Explorer
What he said....omg, the two are not different at all cept the length.
2013 Fleetwood Discovery 40G
TOADS: 12 Jeep JKUR Wrangler, 16 Cherokee Trailhawk, 15 Grand Cherokee, 13 RAM 1500 Longhorn (not a toad) American STEEL = American profits
RET USAF MSGT (26yrs) and still DoD ATC.
DW,DS,DD in the MH w/Westley the killer PUG!

FIRE_UP
Explorer
Explorer
MetalGator wrote:
Both Jeeps are stock but the JKU Jeep has a wheelbase that is 20 inches longer than the JK.

MetalGator,
As has been stated, the distance from the point of attachment on the motorhome to the point of the attachment on EITHER JK, is the EXACT SAME. Your 4 door could be stretched to 3 times its length and, it will still have the same distance between the coach and the front bumper/base plate attachment. There is no difference between the two Jeeps and the coach.