cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Newbie looking for advice

PierceScott
Explorer
Explorer
So I'm new to the world of 5th wheels and I'm looking to dive in head first and live in one! Where I live property prices are absurd and i pay way too much rent with very few options. I do however have family that own a decent property that has a black/grey water cleanout, water supply, electical, etc etc everything I would need. So I've started looking at local 5th wheels to buy. I settled on a 5th wheel over a tow behind because I'm going to be parking it for 2 to 3 years without moving it and the inside space/headroom is just night and day.

What should I know? I've done a bit of reading as to maintenance and things of that nature that need to be done but what could I be overlooking here? I'm not concerned with the overall living space reduction or the fact that everything is smaller (shower, fridge, sink etc). What roadblocks might I run into?

-I'm going to skirt it to save on propane
-I go to costco more than once a week anyways so refilling propane is easy enough
-cleanouts and supplies all within 10 feet of where I would park
-Debating tarping or covering it in some way to prevent any issues with water (good or bad idea?)
-I'm an electrician by trade and I know my way around a toolbox so small maintenance issues won't scare me

Currently I'm narrowed down to 2 options as well and I wanted input/feedback

Option 1 - https://www.travelandrvcanada.com/inv/2006-Forest-River-Silverback-29-LRGBS-14301D/#mainpic

I can get this one for $24k canadian, it's a 2006 but it has a really good open feeling and a lighter coloured interior which I'm fond of

Option 2 - http://sales.fraserway.com/Page.aspx/diid/11560685/list/InventoryList/pageId/147531/location/Abbotsford/view/Details/2010-Komfort-TRAILBLAZER-277RL.aspx