cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Under-$16K truck with 3500lb camper payload?

Coyotefred
Explorer
Explorer
Hello!

Truck camping newbie here, hoping for a little truck-buying advice from you experienced users. I need to replace my current 4×4 project/hauler/bad weather roads truck (not my daily driver–I have a 2wd car for that.) And I’d like to get into some truck camping, so I’d like to find a truck that can do both.

The truck camper sizes/models I’m leaning towards have a wet weight of around 3500 lbs (something like the Lance 850), so that’s the camper/payload capacity I’d need.

The challenge is that I need to stick to a $15-$16K budget for the truck, which limits me to older used trucks, and likely full ton rather than ¾ ton models since I’ve seen few older ¾ ton models that would get me the 3500lb payload.

Another challenge: I live in a rural area with pretty limited “local” truck-buying options, so I’m having to do my truck-buying research via internet/email/phone, and I’ll likely be driving 5+ hours to inspect/buy the truck.

Any general advice on years/makes/models I might focus on for getting that 3500lb payload on a $16K budget? I don’t have any preference on make. I need gas and 4×4, and would prefer SRW, xcab or crew for the interior storage and the long bed for projects/hauling when not hauling the camper. I’ve been able to find a couple of F-350 Super Dutys Crew LB 4×4 years 2005-2008 that are within my budget; seems like one of these might be a decent choice for what I need?

Finally, since I’m going to be looking at older trucks that usually have been “worked,” any specific mechanical issues I should keep an eye out for when I physically inspect/drive it?

Thanks for your help!
Colin
30 REPLIES 30

Coyotefred
Explorer
Explorer
What about something like this 2008 F350 SD?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/xpdeRoJBQgizHi1l1