cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

7-Way Cord Storage

TWZMYJP
Explorer
Explorer
Yes, I'm a 5vr newbie... Please bear with me as I ask a bevvy of stupid questions throughout our first season with the new unit :S

What does everyone do with the pigtail of cord that hangs from the kingpin when you unhook and pull the tow vehicle away? I'm 6'-1" and I can barely reach over the dropped tailgate and stuff the pigtail up into the kingpin cavity, where is usually falls out a couple times before finally sticking anyway... I'm thinking of some sort of hanger or clip arrangement to hold the pigtail up and out of the way? Does such an animal already exist? No need to reinvent the wheel, just figured I'd ask (another) dumb question.
'18 Jayco Alante 31R
18 REPLIES 18

ACZL
Explorer
Explorer
BB_TX wrote:
I also just let the cord hang over the end of the tailgate as I pull away. Then I just loop mine over the front lip of the pin box. With a 5th Airborne pin box there is not much room to put it inside of it.

We have the 5th AB as well and plenty of room to coil the cord and store inside of it.
2017 F350 DRW XLT, CC, 4x4, 6.7
2018 Big Country 3560 SS
"The best part of RVing and Snowmobiling is spending time with family and friends"
"Catin' in the Winter"

john_bet
Explorer
Explorer
Mine is hanging over the front lip of the hitch for now. Not sure yet what I will do once I put the Goosebox hitch on. My just put it inside like I use to.
2018 Ram 3500 SRW CC LB 6.7L Cummins Auto 3.42 gears
2018 Grand Design 337RLS

Dave_H_M
Explorer
Explorer
DSteiner51 wrote:
Stop by your local farm equipment dealer or AutoZone and pick up one of these. 7 pin plug storage

yep the ones i use are like what DSteiner posted. Takes care of the plug as it should be cared for. Lots riding on the condition of that plug.

A thought just came to mind about more attention given to storing coffee filters. :h

stickdog
Explorer
Explorer