cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Kids and class C

bescurred
Explorer
Explorer
newbie here! we are in the process of deciding on what kind of motorhome/travel trailer would be a good fit for our family. We have 3 kids (age 3,6,12) so we have to utilize carseats for the younger two.
The Class C is appealing to us if we can move around the rig (use the restroom, make a sandwich and watch TV) en route. is this a safety issue? we would keep the children seated unless they are using the restroom etc.
I'm really asking what do people actually do that own these with children. There is no way to safely install a carseat in any of the seating.
10 REPLIES 10

maillemaker
Explorer
Explorer
Why not just stop at a rest stop every couple of hours?

Spoken like someone without kids! ๐Ÿ™‚

We've had our RV about 9 years now, and when we got it the kids were 0 and 2. They are now 9 and 12. So they have grown up in the RV.

RVs are great when traveling with kids because invariably kids have to pee every 10 minutes going down the road. Or they need a diaper change. With an RV, they can go potty whenever they need to and the other adult can help if needed without having to pull over and find a bathroom.

The rule of thumb is as others have stated: Most of the time you should be in a seat with a seatbelt on. If you need to get up to get a snack or drink or potty that's fine but otherwise you get in a seat with a seatbelt on.

Sometimes when we are driving late at night I will let the kids climb up in the overhead bunk and sleep. I don't like it but when it's late and they are sacked out there's not much other choice.