Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creaky Sounds Turning Trailer

Caveman_28
Explorer
Explorer
Hi All,

I’m pretty new to the travel trailer scene but am wondering if someone can tell me how to get rid of the creaking noises when I back the trailer up. Where exactly is this sound coming from? Thanks for your insights.

https://youtu.be/XQdx5gktUAA
21 REPLIES 21

harley4275
Explorer
Explorer
spoon059 wrote:
harley4275 wrote:
Like said earlier ...bracket jackets ...the plastic/nylon that goes between the moving bar and L-bracket. and no , they do not affect sway...I have always used them.

I got a set of these from a friend that went to a 5th wheel. I haven't noticed my E4 to be any quieter with them on...

Make sure you put some grease on the ball and on the top and bottom of the parts of the headthat the bars go into .
2013 Sunset Trail 25RB TT
2015 Silverado 2500HD 4x4 6.0 l gasser.
Equilizer 4 pt
From Belle River, Ontario
2003 Mountain Star 890sbrx Truck Camper

spoon059
Explorer II
Explorer II
harley4275 wrote:
Like said earlier ...bracket jackets ...the plastic/nylon that goes between the moving bar and L-bracket. and no , they do not affect sway...I have always used them.

I got a set of these from a friend that went to a 5th wheel. I haven't noticed my E4 to be any quieter with them on...
2015 Ram CTD
2015 Jayco 29QBS

dodge_guy
Explorer
Explorer
myredracer wrote:
Our Reese DC WDH makes loud snap/crack/bang/pop/creak noises. It's how we signal our arrival to everyone in the CG. 🙂

Hitch noise is just part of going camping along with other noisy things like jacks, awnings, idling diesels & kids. 😞

What are these “noisy kids” you speak of?
Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!

myredracer
Explorer II
Explorer II