cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Caution About Buying a Car with Electronic Power Steering

CA_Traveler
Explorer III
Explorer III
Be very cautions about buying any new or newer vehicle with EPS (Electronic Power Steering) and this is in addition to what the mfg says. Dodge, Ford and GM all have reported vehicles with the "Death Wobble" which is severe front wheel oscillations.

EPS means it's electronic controlled steering without any hydraulics. A hydraulic steering system like my 2014 Grand Cherokee has a electric motor for the hydraulic pump and is not EPS. Jeep has a fix for some but not all of the vehicles with EPS and Death Wobble. The 2016 GC has EPS and Death Wobble has been reported.

You can Google Death Wobble and get a lot of information and not all of it is correct or complete.

The available Jeep fix for some models adds a switch to turn on EPS while towing. This can also drain the battery.

Just a FYI as I'm not a expert and Death Wobble is a vehicle specific problem.
2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob
20 REPLIES 20

CA_Traveler
Explorer III
Explorer III
A poster on another board posted that his Dodge dealer just called him about a fix for the Grand Cherokee wobble that is similar to the Cherokee Service Bulletin 08-022-16 fix.

Hopefully for effected Grand Cherokee owners this information is correct.

Update: Rats - Apparently it's was a part number for the Cherokee.

Bob

CA_Traveler
Explorer III
Explorer III
It turns on EPS when towing via switch on the console. Reported to be installed for free under warranty if you have the problem and your VIN is indicated.

Bob

C_and_D_Tabby
Explorer
Explorer
Tripalot wrote:
We tow a 2016 Jeep Cherokee Trail Hawk. We had a Mopar wiring harness installed (at our expense) to eliminate the possibility of "death wobble". We have towed the Jeep approx. 5000 km. with no problems.