cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sub-30ft Class C on International chassis?

AKHamiltons
Explorer
Explorer
My wife and I have been toying around with getting an RV for a couple years. However, I’ve never really been able to find what we want. Specifically a shorter Class C with a powerful diesel. We live in Alaska and many of the trips we take can have roads that have long steep hills. We’d like to tow a trailer for our side by side, or motorcycles, or snow machines. I’ve rented a couple Class C RV’s with the V10 (one 25’ and one 32’), and they both really seemed to struggle when pulling a trailer. Does a 26’-29’ International chassis Class C exist? Or any other diesel larger than the small Mercedes chassis.
12 REPLIES 12

AKHamiltons
Explorer
Explorer
JaxDad wrote:

I suspect it’s more like others posted. The driver was unaware of how to drive them.

As a mechanic friend of mine puts it, ‘a mechanical issue, a loose nut at the wheel’..

While I'm definitely a stranger to RV's, the skinny pedal and I are close friends. I didn't rally the RV's I rented, but I definitely drove them like the proverbial rental. There were a couple long hills in that 32footer where I had the gas smashed into the floor just to maintain 45mph. That V10 was definitely singing, but I was never really worried. That said, I do remember those engines coming alive on flat out roads at higher rpm's though. I even remember thinking "this thing has more pep than I thought it would". It was really just the mountain passes where I was hoping for a little more oomph (especially with a trailer). I think I'll just go to the dealership and test drive some new V10 models.

JaxDad
Explorer III
Explorer III
DRTDEVL wrote:
JaxDad wrote:
AKHamiltons wrote:
We’d like to tow a trailer for our side by side, or motorcycles, or snow machines. I’ve rented a couple Class C RV’s with the V10 (one 25’ and one 32’), and they both really seemed to struggle when pulling a trailer.