Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Medicine cabinet

Campteacher
Explorer
Explorer
Hello friends,

My new Jayco 285 RLS SLX, which I don't get for a month (aww!) doesn't have a medicine cabinet in the bathroom, only a mirror attached to the wall.

Not a big deal for just one person (me), but I was wondering, has anyone replaced a mirror with a medicine cabinet? Easy enough to you? Where to get one? Any tips?

thanks!

Kevin
21 REPLIES 21

myredracer
Explorer II
Explorer II
stevemorris wrote:
I replaced the plastic **** cabinet in two trailers with a cabinet that I made.
but im a cabinet maker by trade!

Can you post a pic in that case? ๐Ÿ™‚

westend
Explorer
Explorer
Most recessed medicine cabinets have through holes in the back that are used for fasteners to a naling strip. In an RV, a guy could mount a nailig strip, install the cabinet and then encircle it with finished wood of choice.

In my S&B, I have two full mirror medicine cabinets, surface mounted. I found the cabinets on-sale for cheap and liked the beveled glass fronts. They have a piece of trim that is hidden by the cabinet flange and even serves as a shelf on the top piece.
'03 F-250 4x4 CC
'71 Starcraft Wanderstar -- The Cowboy/Hilton

CavemanCharlie
Explorer II
Explorer II
The thing I hate about my medicine cabinet and what you would have to watch out for (If you were still going to do this project but, I see that you are not) is that the back wall of my TT is inclined to the front of the TT and that is where my cabinet is mounted. They put the bottom of the medicine cabinet on a 2X1 to make up for the lean but, it is not enough and the cabinet leans forward. So, I can put stuff in it but, the slightest little bounce makes it fall over and when I open the door stuff falls out.

The good news is that I am learning to be a better catch this way.

stevemorris
Explorer
Explorer
I replaced the plastic **** cabinet in two trailers with a cabinet that I made.