cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Throttle Body Confusion

psalm10720
Explorer
Explorer
I had posted a post regarding a carburetor issue I was having with my Brave "falling on it's face" after warm-up. I'm not a mechanic and yield to the experts. The term Carburetor was used to me by professionals and so looking at the unit and listening to local professionals I had it in my mind that the unit was a carburetor but I was wrong. It is a throttle body injector that looks like a carburetor. I sent it to a speed shop and spent a huge amount of money and they got a Holly Unit tried to make it work then found out from Holly that unit would not work. They did some other stuff which has helped but I found a carburetor shop in my area that has a good reputation so I will send it to them when I can. I really believed in my mind based on the looks of the unit and what I was told by other professionals that it was a carburetor but they and I were wrong... Sorry.
26 REPLIES 26

RLS7201
Explorer
Explorer
psalm10720 wrote:
It’s a P30 chasis not P32. I only come in a short time each month. Situation is ok. Will post if I need assistance. Case closed.

That's backwards. Chevy class A motor home chassis are P32. Chevy truck chassis are P30. But the P32 chassis has been misidentified for years. Even the generic parts houses has it wrong in their computers.
I've actually seen the P32 parts books at a GMC dealer.

Richard
95 Bounder 32H F53 460
2013 CRV Toad
2 Segways in Toad
First brake job
1941 Hudson

psalm10720
Explorer
Explorer
Yes it is a throttle body. I am a neophyte when it comes to some issues. It looks like a carb but it is a throttle body. When funds allow I will have it rebuilt. I apologize for the confusion but it looks like a carb to me and that's what a shop referred to it as.

The good news is the work they did other than changing or rebuilding the throttle body has made the engine run smoother and not falter on acceleration.