cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tire covers......why?

3_dog_nights
Explorer
Explorer
OK, I'm a newbie. I searched the history and found a lot of comments about tire covers, but no reason for tire covers. Why do i want tire covers? the sun is on the tires of everything I own and have owned for 65+ years, never had a problem. Why do I think this is something "they" need to sell, not that I need to buy???
Bob & Lynn
2 Chihuahua's, Ella, Gracie

was-2013 Open Range 424RLS,06' Chevy 3500, dually, Duramax/Allison

also was - 2015 Winnebago Adventurer 37F, towing 2003 Jeep Wrangler

now - 2021 NoBo 19.5, 2019 Honda Ridgeline RTL (Talk about downsizing!)
22 REPLIES 22

hipower
Explorer
Explorer
While tire failure during a trip is a concern for numerous reasons, I would suggest that most tire failures are due to road hazards, under inflation and running into and over curbs. Overloading, age and not protecting the tires from the sun would be a distant fourth or fifth.

Zman300
Explorer
Explorer
In addition to tire covers.
It's good to keep the tires off the asphalt, when parked for extended periods.
When parked at home for a long time, I had 4 pieces of plywood to park on.
That's what I was told so that's what we did.
No RV at the moment.
Looking to hit the road in a year or two.

3_dog_nights
Explorer
Explorer
OK then, where is the best place to buy the cover, covers?
Bob & Lynn

All_I_could_aff
Explorer
Explorer
Not if you use Tire Cover Covers over them
1999 R-Vision Trail Light B17 hybrid
2006 Explorer Eddie Bauer
2002 Xterra rollin’ on 33’s
1993 Chevy Z24 Convertible
Lives in garage 71,000 miles

2oldman
Explorer
Explorer
Executive wrote:
They're all about the same.
The cheaper ones with the thin plastic covering will crack and break quickly.
"If I'm wearing long pants, I'm too far north" - 2oldman

Executive45
Explorer III
Explorer III
3 dog nights wrote: