cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Good hose gone bad

ScottG
Nomad
Nomad
So I've been using this same 25' hose for many years. It was a high quality hose when I bought it and it's still just as sound as when new.
Here's the weird part, after all these years it suddenly stinks like the inside of an old car that's been sitting in a junkyard for decades. It was fine two weeks ago!
The hose isn't rotted or sticky like some old garden hoses get, it just stinks. After handling it I had to wash my hands and arms twice and change my shirt to get rid of the smell.
I ended up carrying it with a stick like a dead snake and dumping it in the CG dumpster.
Fortunately I had the cheapo Camco hose that came with the trailer. It worked fine but made the water taste like plastic.

Has anyone else ever had a good hose go bad?
15 REPLIES 15

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
Go to rvwaterfilterstore.com buy their white hose at the length and connections you want. Hose will last MANY years and is flexible in even cold weather. I bought 5', 15' and 25' lengths.

2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

bartlettj
Explorer
Explorer
It's a good idea to replace any older hose. The plasticizers in most of those hoses are now banned as hazardous materials. Flexible PVC and bpa containing plastics were used in those older hoses and are no longer approved for drinking water.

down_home
Explorer
Explorer
Green stuff will grow in one of those translucent thin white hoses even if water is always moving. The algae etc latches onto the plastic and the sun and whatever might be in the water feeds it.