Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

leveling ramps for dually tires

mharrel
Explorer
Explorer
Hey guys:
Im new to the rv world and just got a class C with dually tires on back.
Question: when i need to level the unit should i use a ramp/leggo blocks under both back tires per side or is one back tire ok? i'm assuming i should do both to spread the weight. what do you guys say?
thanks for you help.
7 REPLIES 7

Mich_F
Explorer
Explorer
pnichols wrote:
Our RV traveling companions level only one dually on a side all the time (but I put leveling blocks under both dually tires per side).

What I've noticed is the extreme sidewall bulging on our friend's RV with only one tire of a dually set getting a leveling block. This bulging hour after hour has got to be stretching the sidewall material much more than temporary dynamic loading does.

Logically - that really can't be the best way to treat your RV's $$$ tires.

I agree with you. As an example let's take an E450 with 9,000# on the rear axle, or something around 4,500# on each side. How can putting that 4,500# on a tire that is rated for 2,470# in a dually or 2,680# as a single, be considered a good thing to do ?
2014 Itasca Spirit 31K Class C
2016 Mazda CX5 on Acme tow dolly- 4 trips ~ 5,800 mi
Now 2017 RWD F150 with a drive shaft disconnect

pnichols
Explorer II
Explorer II
Our RV traveling companions level only one dually on a side all the time (but I put leveling blocks under both dually tires per side).

What I've noticed is the extreme sidewall bulging on our friend's RV with only one tire of a dually set getting a leveling block. This bulging hour after hour has got to be stretching the sidewall material much more than temporary dynamic loading does.

Logically - that really can't be the best way to treat your RV's $$$ tires.
2005 E450 Itasca 24V Class C

Farmboy666
Explorer
Explorer
I level on one tire all the time without any problems. Your not moving so not an issue.

valhalla360