Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Internet connection not working -- CAT5e
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Internet connection not working -- CAT5e

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
TenOC

On the road -- Full time

Senior Member

Joined: 03/08/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/12/18 08:11pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My RV is 300 feet from my S&B home. About 5 years ago I ran (in a pvc conduit) a underground gel filled CAT5e cable from the S&B to the RV. I got good service at the RV with about the same speed as at the S&B.

I have now returned from 6 weeks on the road. I no longer have internet service at the RV. I do not know if there was any type of storm damage or other thing that could have "knock out" the cable while I was on the road.

I have tested the cable and I get a "pass" with one of these tester.

CAT5 Tester

Even with a "good pass" cable I can not connect to the internet. Is there some other type of tester that I can use to find out what is wrong?


Please give me enough troubles, uncertainty, problems, obstacles and STRESS so that I do not become arrogant, proud, and smug in my own abilities, and enough blessings and good times that I realize that someone else is in charge of my life.

Travel Photos

rk911

Wheaton IL

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/12/18 08:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

do you have internet st the house?


'73,
rich, n9dko
Every retired man needs three things....a good truck, a good dog and a working wife
_________________________________


_________________________________
2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
'46 Willys CJ2A
'03 Jeep Wrangler TJ
'10 Jeep Liberty KK



MarkTwain

Northern, Ca. , USA

Senior Member

Joined: 07/26/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/12/18 08:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Contact your Internet provider and explain the situation? solution? Can you get internet wirelessly? Could your CAT5e have a break in the wiring? Try connecting a new CAT5e from RV to House above ground to test your older CAT5e cable.

TenOC

On the road -- Full time

Senior Member

Joined: 03/08/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/12/18 08:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rk911 wrote:

do you have internet st the house?


Yes, I still have internet at the house

TenOC

On the road -- Full time

Senior Member

Joined: 03/08/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/12/18 09:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MarkTwain wrote:

Contact your Internet provider and explain the situation? solution?Since AT&T did not run the 300 foot cable, they do not want to help.

Can you get internet wirelessly?

300 feet is too far for wireless


Could your CAT5e have a break in the wiring? If there is a break the cable would not test good

Try connecting a new CAT5e from RV to House above ground to test your older CAT5e cable. That is my last choice since 300 feet of CAT5 will cost almost $50.00


* This post was edited 07/12/18 09:14pm by TenOC *

rk911

Wheaton IL

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/12/18 09:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

also try rebooting the router in the house.

TenOC

On the road -- Full time

Senior Member

Joined: 03/08/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/12/18 09:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rk911 wrote:

also try rebooting the router in the house.


I have rebooted. I get internet when a short patch ethernet CAT5 cable is plugged into the same port on the the router at the house that the long cable uses. Thus I know the router port is working.

rk911

Wheaton IL

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/12/18 09:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

TenOC wrote:

rk911 wrote:

also try rebooting the router in the house.


I have rebooted. I get internet when a short patch ethernet CAT5 cable is plugged into the same port on the the router at the house that the long cable uses. Thus I know the router port is working.

then it's either a problem with the pc at the trailer or a bad cable.

NRALIFR

Truck Camping Out West

Senior Member

Joined: 11/27/2005

View Profile



Posted: 07/13/18 02:27am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Crimp a new RJ45 connector on each end.

[emoticon][emoticon]


2001 Lance 1121 on a 2016 F450


Chris Bryant

Arden, North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 07/13/18 04:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

In conduit? Run a new length of cat6. That tester just tests continuity, not quality.


-- Chris Bryant
My RV Service Blog
The RV.net Blog

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Internet connection not working -- CAT5e
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS