Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Travel Trailers: First Dry Camping Experience
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers  >  General Q&A

> First Dry Camping Experience

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Prev  |  Next
2 many 2

USA

View Profile

Posted: 07/16/18 11:34am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

"2 many 2: Is it difficult to get to the back of the fridge? Sounds like I have such a Dometic, so I need to decide between your method, or adding a switch. I'm not very experienced with electrical stuff, but I did add a relay and switches to an old tube style Hammond organ. I didn't kill myself or break anything, so I figure I could tackle this"

I have a different model than you but it is a Dometic so it should be similar. Open the outside access door for the fridge, the black plastic junction box with all the wires is on the lower left. Pop off the cover and simply unplug the wire for the heating element.

On the lower right side, mine has the wiring diagram on the the burner cover. The circuit is indicated as: "T" "Heating Cable" and #10 light blue wire. Mine has a simple female spade connector that just pulls off of the connector terminal strip.

You could just leave it un-connected, I added an in-line fuse holder to that connector and attached the other end to the terminal strip. Anytime I want it connected I just put a 3amp fuse in the holder (I have never needed to)

X2 On the checklist
X2 Check your own batteries with a $5 hydrometer