Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Need Help Finding Under Cabinet Microwave

PDX1953
Explorer
Explorer
Hi -

Newbie here. I'm looking for a 1000w (or slightly smaller) microwave that can be mounted under the cabinet above my sink. I'd appreciate your recommendations / suggestions.
9 REPLIES 9

PDX1953
Explorer
Explorer
Alan_Hepburn wrote:
Are you replacing an existing microwave, or adding one? If you're replacing one, then the cabinet is already built to handle the weight, and the microwave is most likely a standard under-cabinet unit so you can get pretty much ANY brand that is listed as an under-cabinet model - just be aware of how they are vented.

On the other hand, if you're adding a new one you'll most likely have to reinforce the cabinet to carry the weight, and maybe even reinforce the cabinet's connection to the wall/ceiling. Then you'll have to add a new power outlet and run some romex back to your power panel - most microwaves will be connected to a dedicated 15A circuit breaker - while they CAN be plugged in to an existing outlet if anything else is running off that line you'll be popping the breaker.

I'm adding one to a custom mini toy hauler (12' x 7') and bought brackets that mount to the wall. If I can't find 2 studs in the right place I'll bridge them with a piece if 1" x 3" oak trim I have laying around. The stove will only be used with shore power or via my genset.

Alan_Hepburn
Explorer
Explorer
Are you replacing an existing microwave, or adding one? If you're replacing one, then the cabinet is already built to handle the weight, and the microwave is most likely a standard under-cabinet unit so you can get pretty much ANY brand that is listed as an under-cabinet model - just be aware of how they are vented.