Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New TV old set up with pictures and question

1kennyOG
Explorer
Explorer
Hi Guys
long time no see.
So I got a newer tow vehicle and thought the setup would need to be changed but when I hooked up, it looked ok.

Please let me know what you think. I drove it for half hour at 60 and it felt ok.

My previous truck was 4x4 this one is not.

17 REPLIES 17

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
mkirsch wrote:
2edgesword wrote:
I'm no expert on this but based on what I've read you should measure the front and rear of the truck (ground to top edge of wheel well) before and after hitching up. I don't know the exact specs but I would think you don't want the rear to squat more than about 1.0 ~ 1.5 inches and the front to raise any more than that. If the differences are within that range you know the weight distribution is going its thing.

Not to pick on you, but you're not even close.

The only "squat" to be concerned with is on the FRONT of the truck. Trailer tongue weight causes the front end of the truck to rise, because weight is being levered/"teeter-tottered" off the front axle.

A weight distribution hitch's primary purpose is to push the front end back down, returning most, if not all, of that weight back to the front wheels so that they can steer and brake effectively.

How much to return has changed over the years. Long ago, you were looking for "even squat" front and rear. However, modern 4x4 pickup trucks ride on bump stops at normal ride height, so you can't push them down any further than normal ride height.

Conventional wisdom up until recently has been to return the front end to original ride height, or as close as you can get without going over. Too much pressure on the front will cause suspension damage due to the aforementioned bump stops.

Lately, the owner's manuals have been recommending returning the front end HALFWAY back to original ride height.

Rear squat is not a concern.