cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice for older couple

Grangrey4
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here. Buying used. Recently retired. 40K to 45K budget leaves a used class c. How old is too old? Thought about 2011 and newer if possible. Lots of small 23 footers out there in price range. Would that be too small for us and three grandchildren or would we go nuts. Are slides a problem on the older units of 8 years or so? Also are small units any more prone to problems? Ideal would be 27 or 28 foot bumper to bumper, however not many out there. Any advice is welcome and helpful.
Thanks.
40 REPLIES 40

ron_dittmer
Explorer
Explorer
Grangrey4,

Our mattress needed to get replaced this year. My wife and I found that a Hometics 6" mattress from Walmart was a very good replacement. We removed it's zippered cover, un-stitched one end of the inner fire barrier material, and cut the foam mattress with integrated memory foam top to the size needed.

You can read and view pictures of our project by CLICKING HERE

Grangrey4
Explorer
Explorer
I think a topper would probably fix it. But mattress is already high for 5'1" gal!

Bordercollie
Explorer
Explorer