cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Battery Life?

jmiller12
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here. I've never boon-docked before, and was wondering how long I can have the lights on in my TT before the battery gets to a critical level (from what I've read below half way charged is bad?) I have a Winnebago Minnie, and the refrigerator and water heater can run off propane, so I am good in that department. Basically, I want to know when I pull into a Wal-Mart parking lot for the night, can I have three or four overhead lights on for a few hours and be fine? What about a day or two? If I left a light on accidentally over night would it drain my battery completely? Is there a way to measure this other than the battery meter in the TT which I have read is not an accurate reflection of battery load or the water tanks for that matter. My TT only has one battery, and I have no idea how long it can power certain loads. This is all assuming I start with a full charge because I will have been towing for a few hours and my truck is recharging the battery. Thanks
21 REPLIES 21

rbpru
Explorer
Explorer
There is a big big difference to stopping for a couple of day without power and boondocking.

Most anyone and squeak by for a few days on the battery or give it a 15 minute boost with a set of jumper cables off the truck.

True boondocking means the management of all resources; battery, gas, and water are the most obvious. Most serious boonedockers are geared up for it.
Twenty six foot 2010 Dutchmen Lite pulled with a 2011 EcoBoost F-150 4x4.

Just right for Grandpa, Grandma and the dog.

Sam_Spade
Explorer
Explorer
pianotuna wrote:

Deep cycle 50% recharge to 100%

AGM 12 volt 50% recharge to 100%

AND....it is useful to know that 50% discharged puts them at something very near to 12.0 volts.