cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Suburban Electric Water heater

TGO
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2005 Carriage It has a Suburban Gas/electric hot water heater. Lately the electric side has been working intermittently. Very frustrating. Gas side works perfect. I replaced the element with no luck Then I took the partition out and when moving some wires around, it started for a while. Thought maybe it was a loose connection on the modulator but when I put the modulator back into place I lost power to the element again. I'm not an electrician although I do have a light knowledge and a few electronic tools to check voltage and amp. Anybody have any ideas? Question: What is the purpose of the modulator? Is it for gas, electric or both? Probably have to take it in but just wondering if anyone else has had similar issues. Thanks
12 REPLIES 12

Vette_Racer
Explorer
Explorer
Wire going to thermostat was loose and burned, replaced thermostat and wire connector. Symptom was first just low temp, then no heating on electric.
KE5NCP
2016 Ram CC Dually, 2011 HitchHiker 349 RSB DA, 2018 Wrangler unlimited Rubicon

TGO
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks everyone, I think I have enough info to get things rolling.

Old-Biscuit
Explorer II
Explorer II
Modulator.......
Do you mean the circuit board that is on backside of water heater tank?

IF so and moving the wiring on it does affect the electric operation then you could have a 'DEL' model
Similar to the way Atwood uses DC to trigger AC to the element

DC goes to a DC/AC Relay...DC from electric on/off to JUNCTION Box to relay to element. Ground wire (Yellow) from circuit board ties to ground in junction box
No solid ground no electric

2 Junction Boxes (looking from the rear).......One left side/DC and One right side/AC----DC/AC Relay in AC Box

Is it time for your medication or mine?

2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter