cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

At what point do you call it quits on repairs??

rambleonrose
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all!

I'm a newb here, but seasoned forum junkie elsewhere. Also heavily seasoned in tackling projects that end up being way over my head. Raise your hand if this applies to you.

Long story short - I purchased an older RV early this summer. Knew about some small roof leaks, and in the process of fixing them, proceeded to make things worse. Decided to pull out the inside ceiling and add cross support beams and seal the roof outside. (side note - I'm fairly certain the roof hasn't been sealed in ages....)

With the bottom of the metal roof now exposed on the inside, there appears to be so many small pinholes in it it could be a starry night scene. From corrosion, from wear/tear/shoes/??, who knows, there are a LOT. Iffin I had extra money, I'd look at this as just replace the whole **** roof.

So my question to you, fellow repair folks, like any unintentionally massive repair project, where do you draw the line? When do you say, 'nope, this won't be worth it' or 'I don't think I can actually fix this'??

How much in over your head have you been willing to go, without knowing if there would be a positive outcome?

I'd note that while my RV remodeling is rather limited, I've done loads on old houses - carpentry, wiring, tiling/floor, and all that jazz, so I'm unfortunately familiar with all the unforeseen problems.

What say you? When is enough enough?
23 REPLIES 23

rambleonrose
Explorer
Explorer
I'm not 100% sure how to put a pic in this forum, but it's ProFlex RV flexible sealant. purchased at an RV place (where they also do repairs). It's got a bunch of mouth-fun ingredients, but no silicone- interestingly enough, the shop's printed sticker says 'silicone sealant', lol!