cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bad odor when flushing black tank

rbcamping
Explorer
Explorer
When I dump the black tank and flush is causes the whole camper to smell.
I close off both grey tanks, dump black tank with the flush system running while, flushing, then I close dump valve for a couple of minutes with the flush system on, and then dump again to get a good rinse. I do not over fill. The last few times I have done this I get a strong sewage odor inside the RV. No leaks that I can see. Any suggestions on what to check?
12 REPLIES 12

Pangaea_Ron
Explorer
Explorer
I disagree about the tank not draining well with the roof vent(s) clogged. Mine drained fine with the roof vent clogged. There is enough air available along with the discharge flow, and also forced around the toilet seal.

My issues were actually with both the grey and black tanks blocked from wasp nests, but my major issues were with the grey tank. That vent pipe was installed about 2-3 inches low into the grey tank, (and 2-3 inches below the roof, which indicated the installation problem) and when the tank was nearly filled, the vent inlet was below the water level, and could not then vent. The foul vapors would then vent through (overpower) the under sink vent, or adjacent sinks. I plumbed a flexible line bypassing the under sink vent directly to the exterior, which solved the problem.
2008 Itasca SunCruiser 35L
2014 Honda AWD CR-V EX-L

rbcamping
Explorer
Explorer
The bathroom sink, shower, and toilet are vented through the roof, the kitchen sink has AAV under the counter. When I dump, I close the grey tank valves and then dump the black.

D_E_Bishop
Explorer
Explorer
When we bought our current rig two and a half years ago, I had that problem. DGS would not stay anywhere near the RV when I dumped and he has to use a bag in the wilderness. It was awful!