Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Weight Distribution Hitch or Air Lift System?? Help

freddy4toes
Explorer
Explorer
I'm Brand New To This Great Forum...
I just bought a brand new 2018 Grand Design TT 37' "Reflection". Love the trailer, but now I need to set up my truck with the Hitch or an Air Bag System. Can some of you pro's out there(sure not me)tell me what the benefit is... one over the other, for me doing just the air lift system 7500lbs or a Weight Distribution Hitch. I have a 2012 Ford Crew cab 4x4 F350, Dual rear wheels, long bed, King Ranch, 6.7L Diesel, that I'm going to be buying soon. It has 30,000 miles on it and I don't know which way is going to be better. Stand alone Air Lift System or the Weight Distribution Hitch. The trailer is around 1,000lbs at the tongue and the trailer will be around 12,500lbs. Thanks for any suggestions??
23 REPLIES 23

trailer_newbe
Explorer
Explorer
I tow the below trailer with my 5.7 CrewMax SRD. I use a good WDH to stabilize the trailer when towing. I use the TRD sway bar to prevent sway in my truck. I use Bilstein shocks and Firestone Air Bags to level the truck and trailer together. One does not replace the other, rather they complement each other when used appropriately. Outfit your truck as needed and understand what each device is supposed to do.
2018 Jayco White Hawk 28RL

Lynnmor
Explorer
Explorer
jbjuices wrote:
I have a 2017 F350 (SWR) with an 11,500lb TT on back. I have a Propride hitch and hooked it up last weekend and both Truck and trailer are perfectly level. No need for Airbags if you have a good WDH hitch set-up to level out Truck and Trailer

We keep getting these posts that explain leveling out the truck. The purpose of a WEIGHT DISTRIBUTING HITCH is to DISTRIBUTE WEIGHT to the front axle. SPRINGS and AIR BAGS are for supporting a vehicle, and you either have enough support or not.

jbjuices
Explorer
Explorer