cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

rebuild of 1999 Fleetwood Elkhorn 10W

biggjb
Explorer
Explorer
We purchased a 1999 Fleetwood camper and now realise it is a fixer upper. I need to replace the rubber roof and some of plywood on the roof as well. there are also sidewall issues which will require extensive rebuild of the frame. As I now have a winter project and the fact I have never done this type of work before, I'll need some advice. Should I clean up and keep all the corner molding? As I will need to replace some the ceiling inside, where can I get the wood (Home Depot)? Also, I will need to replace some of the frame. I have some interesting ideas on how to remove rotten wood and add good quality material but would like to hear from someone who has gone through this work before. Thanks
13 REPLIES 13

Downwindtracke1
Explorer
Explorer
Yes, they use that formula in wooden boats. Works great they say. But if you let the wood dry , it usually just surface moisture, and keep it dry, the wood will out last you. The trick is to keep wood dry. That means doing a good job of sealing. I worked in the industry when I was younger, and have no use what so ever for grey butyl tape. They use poly urethane sealant, like Proflex, on the bottom of boats, that tells you something doesn't it.
Adventure before dementia

biggjb
Explorer
Explorer