Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie trying to buy 1st Used RV

saffikeagan
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,

I'm an RV newbie looking to buy a used Class B+/C around Dallas, Tx, but I'm totally frustrated with the process. The private sellers I've been contacting are either flaking or running for the hills as soon as I mention having a mechanic inspect the vehicle (my inaugural trip will be a cross country move with 4 pets in tow...I need to make sure the RV can make the trip!)

The RV dealerships all seem to be reminiscent of 1980s used car lots. They have crappy reviews on yelp, and when I ask them about any certified used, or warranties, etc the responses I get are all along the lines of "we don't care what we are selling, it's 100% up to you to not buy a lemon." I don't necessarily mind, but the dealerships with used RVs are all a good hour away from me in places that I don't know how to get a mechanic to check out the RV for me.

At this point, I'm willing to spend more money than initially budgeted on a used RV if a dealer can help make sure I'm walking away with a decent vehicle, but IDK. Maybe I need to grow some anatomical parts to get more assistance.

I'd appreciate any advice, recommendations, leads, etc. I'm ready to scrap the whole idea, but I really want an RV.

Thanks,

Nicole
28 REPLIES 28

Veebyes
Explorer II
Explorer II
Nothing wrong with getting a survey. Standard way of doing things when buying a boat of any real size. If a seller has a problem with a survey, you really don't want to buy from him.

The reason for selling could make a difference. Lots of people buy mistakes then want to sell after only a year or so. If what they have is the model that you really really want & you have done the research to be sure that this is the right model for you then see if you can find one only a year or so old.