cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

sway bars

floor_guy
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 38 ft tt and have the equalizer sway bars, i have never greased them but they are rather squeaky so do i just grease the ends? what method makes the least mess and what method of storage when not in use as I wouldn't want a messy blob in my storage compartment
9 REPLIES 9

aftermath
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have been using an Equalizer hitch for about 14 years now. When I got the first one, Progressive said it was fine to lightly grease the L brackets along with the pivot head. They did not have the plastic sleeves yet. I have done this since then and my hitch is quiet and I have yet to experience any sway at all.

That said, I avoid adding grease to the L brackets unless I hear some noise. Even then I only add it to the head and that usually quiets things down. If it doesn't, I will put a very small amount on the L brackets. Usually have to do this only once a year. The head gets greased about 3 or 4 times a season.
2017 Toyota Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7L V8
2006 Airstream 25 FB SE
Equalizer Hitch

Hannibal
Explorer
Explorer
I have to use a dab of grease at the L brackets. DW doesn't tolerate the music well. It still holds the rig steady. However, we don't have a sway problem even with no sway control.
2020 F250 STX CC SB 7.3L 10spd 3.55 4x4
2010 F250 XLT CC SB 5.4L 5spdTS 3.73
ex '95 Cummins,'98 12v Cummins,'01.5 Cummins,'03 Cummins; '05 Hemi
2017 Jayco 28RLS TT 32.5'

bikendan
Explorer
Explorer
we don't know if the OP owns an Equal-i-zer and is calling the weight bars, "sway bars" or they are using word equalizer for a regular WDH with friction anti-sway bars.
Dan- Firefighter, Retired:C, Shawn- Musician/Entrepreneur:W, Zoe- Faithful Golden Retriever(RIP:(), 2014 Ford F150 3.5 EcoboostMax Tow pkg, 2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255 w/4pt Equalizer and 5 Mtn. bikes and 2 Road bikes

owenssailor
Explorer
Explorer