Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tow Vehicles: Dark differential lube
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

> Dark differential lube

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Next
Blazing Zippers

North Idaho

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 11/07/18 11:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Being the good owner that I am---I took the Ram to a shop for its oil change. I've had LOF done there before with no issues.
This time, they said that the rear differential gear oil was "dark," and that the brake fluid needed changing. The truck has just over 26,000 miles, and about half of that was towing a trailer or fifth wheel.
I'm not a mechanic, but I've never had to do either of these things. In fact, I don't recall anyone I know changing these fluids except when disassembling their vehicle. Has this shop turned into a "stealership?"
Your thoughts please.

LanceRKeys

Amarillo, TX

View Profile

Posted: 11/07/18 11:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What does your owners manual say about it?

K-9 HANDLER

Maryland's Eastern Shore

View Profile

Posted: 11/08/18 03:00am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

how old is the truck

Camping near home at Assateague National Seashore with our wild four legged friends

jfkmk

NJ

View Profile

Posted: 11/08/18 03:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Both the above questions are applicable. Diff fluid usually has a much longer life, closer to 100k miles. Brake fluid should be changed out every 3 years or so. But, when in doubt, follow the owners manual.

Ralph Cramden

US

View Profile

Posted: 11/08/18 03:22am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Changing brake fluid? LOL.