cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Zion NP Fall or Spring

rangerjean
Explorer
Explorer
I blew my original plan of booking Watchman for early May..totally booked. So my question here for you seasoned RVers. Would it be better to wait until fall ...say October..to go there for 5 days taking day trips out to other parks...or should I stay with original time and try for a different camp? Any opinions on which are close and as good?
8 REPLIES 8

babock
Explorer
Explorer
We were there Oct 10 for 5 nights. Was awesome except for the crowds. Won't be back because of the crowds.

dedmiston
Our family's best trips to Zion have been in the fall. It's absolutely gorgeous that time of year (but chilly).

Brush up on your conversational German though, because that's a popular time of year for German tourists. Our family joke is that you'll only see retired folks or Germans traveling through the Four Corners states in October.

I studied German for nine years as a kid and used to speak pretty fluently. One year we were in an NP and somebody approached me to say hello. I didn't look retired, so he struck up his conversation in his native German. I was pretty rusty as an adult, but I did my best to keep up with the convo. The guy finally stopped and looked me up and down to figure out if I'd been hit in the head or something because my language skills were so poor. He asked me where I was from and I told him Los Angeles. Then he asked me why I was speaking German to him and I told him because he started it.

I guess we Americans are weird and I was living proof.

One other thought on Spring vs. Fall. We've taken trips to southern Utah in both the spring and the fall, and we've had way more issues with late winter storms than early fall storms. When we're worried about the weather, we aim for the fall over spring every time. Either way though, I don't think we've ever had a bad day in Utah.

Enjoy your trip.