cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Diesel class A idling for a looooong time

larry_cad
Explorer
Explorer
I have been driving a 40' diesel class A for about 14 years, and during that time I have heard and read many rants and complaints about diesel owners idling for long times while sitting in the campground, usually prior to departing. I have to say, I have never witnessed this and personally do not practice it either. To get ready to leave a campsite, I run my rig for about 5 minutes to air it up, and warm up the engine. In my opinion, nothing more is required prior to departing.

This morning it happened. We are staying at a resort campground with concrete road and sites that are about 80' long. This morning I was outside taking the pups for a walk, and noticed this rig across the street was idling. The owner was outside, apparently getting ready to leave. As I watched (and while the coach was running) he made at least 10 trips back and forth from inside the motorhome to the pickup truck, getting it hooked up and ready to leave. When I say at least 10 trips, I'm not making it up. There were at least 8 trips to hookup and check out the operation of his lights. Several more to insure the truck was hooked up properly, at least two trips around the coach to check that all was well, etc. I started timing this drama after the coach reached full pressure and it was over half hour, so about 40 minutes sitting, idling. As an owner of a diesel motorhome, I can assure you that virtually everything he did could have been accomplished with the motor OFF! I have no problem with being safe, and careful, just do it with consideration for others.