cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How much trailer can the new 1/2 ton trucks tow?

BeerBrewer
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to RVing and I'm in the market for a new TV. Ideally I'd like a 3/4 or 1 ton truck, but these trucks require commercial plates, which makes driving on Long Island (NY State) difficult, so I'm considering going with a 1/2 ton truck, but i'm not sure how large a trailer they can tow.

I looked at the new RAM 1500 (5.7L V8 with a 3.92 rear axle) and it boasts some impressive numbers.
GVWR - 7100 lbs
Payload - 1780 lbs
Towing - 11,240 lbs
Max Tongue - 1100 lbs
Front GAWR - 3900 lbs
Rear GAWR - 4100
GCW - 17,000

I found these numbers either on the door frame or at Ramtrucks.com

So without getting into the weeds, how large a trailer should I consider?
59 REPLIES 59

GeoBoy
Explorer
Explorer
Yosemite Sam1 wrote:
GeoBoy wrote:
2oldman wrote:
2edgesword wrote:
Any truck over 6,000 lbs. gets commercial tags.
Assuming they cost more, is that because NY has really crummy roads?

Are you serious? We visited most of the National Parks in Kalifornia and found where parts of roads that slid of the side of the mountain, Kalifornia’s fix was to put a sign up stating single lane! Took Rt. 199 to the Redwood NP and the road was winding and rock overhanging to the point you had to get into the oncoming lane to avoid hitting my 12’ tall TC! Took Rt. 120 into Yosemite NP, a rock slid occurred years ago, Kalifornia’s answer was to not fix but find an alternate route around it. Low and behold a rock slide fell on that route and we had to take a 5 hour round trip to get back into the park! Took Kalifornia over a month to remove that rock! New York roads are some of the best designed, best signed and best maintained roads in the United States.

National Park roads are federal. Soo Trump, blaming someone else for not properly maintaining federal lands where fires started when it's his responsibility, lol.