cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best route to Kimberley BC.

gkenworth
Explorer
Explorer
I've got to move my neice from Edmonton to Kimberley this winter. Dragging a 1/2 full 24' enclosed behind my F250. I'm a truck driver with mountain experience, but I haven't travelled those routes in over 2 decades.
I'm curious which would be my better route (baring weather). Crowsnest pass or Hwy 1 & 95?
Tia
This might be the wrong place for this question.
IMHO
8 REPLIES 8

SideHillSoup
Explorer
Explorer
Have driven to and from the West Kootenays for years ( Kimberly in the East Kootenays) as my oldest daughter lives between Calgary and Banff.
Hands down the best route is Q-2 to the NW Stoney Trail ring road to ( 201) to Hwy 1 west to Banff.
Then take Castle Jct to Hwy 93 to Radium Hot Springs, then follow Hwy 93/95 south to Wasa lake and then Hwy 95-A into Kimberly.
I had two daughter that lived in Calgary at one time, so I have driven both routes many times over the years.
I had one daughter in the NW and one in the SW, and winter driving through the Crows nest pass is far more hazardous than the route I just gave you above.
You have one hill climbing out of Castle Jct and then one hill up to the summit above Radium and then the hill down into Radium, that's it. Use your transmission and 4 way flashes when going down the hill into Radium. I pulled my 35 ft 5 wheel up and down the routs many times... just take it easy you will be fine.
The roads are kept in great shape all the time. However bad weather can make any road sketchy, and can happen any time. I will drive through the Park any day, in stead of Crows Nest Pass. .

Soup.
2018 Northern Lite 8-11 EX Dry Bath
2017 Sierra SLE, 3500 HD / 4x4 / Duramax with a 6 speed Allison Trans
Torklift Super Hitch 20K, 48" Super Truss, front and rear frame mounted tie downs
Fast Gun Long Range SS Turnbuckles, Fast Gun locks

Powder_pig
Explorer
Explorer