cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Dash Environment Control 3D Printed fix

stugpanzer
Explorer
Explorer
Back in 2017 during our first trip out after winter, our dash air was stuck only heat. I had it checked and it turns out that there was a clamp of sorts that held a cable which opens/closes the flap to allow (or not) hot air in. Mine was broken in the heat position. There is a body shop in my town that works on pretty much anything and so I asked them to check on fixing it. They came back and said the part was $400 which I hesitatingly said to go ahead and do. It turned out that Fleetwood didn't have any in stock so I told them to just hold and we will revisit. I had them set it in the cold position for summer driving/camping.

Today, I was checking things in the RV and decided to have a look at that control. I am an avid 3d printer hobbyist and as I looked at the plastic case, I realized I could design and print something. It took me about 30 minutes to design what I wanted and about 20 minutes to 3d print the part which cost about 3 cents in plastic.

It was a success and so for a little bit of my time, maybe a total of an hour along with printing the part that cost me 3 cents in PLA plastic and 32 cents in screws, I saved about $399.65 fixing it myself!

If anybody thinks they could use this part, I can send you the STL file for you to print or for you to find someone to print....or I could print it for you as well...just PM me.

This is the unit:

This is the design I came up with:

This is the rear of that unit with my part dry fitted:

My part installed...note the crack on the original unit. Cheaply made and in my opinion not worth $400!

Installed and clamped in place with my 3D printed design:
2006 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37C
Mods: EEZRV Products TPMS, Cobra 29LX 50th Anniversary CB radio with Firestik NGP Antenna, Self contained sewer hose
15 REPLIES 15

Explorer II
Explorer II