cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RV vs steering tires

Groover
Explorer II
Explorer II
The tires on my Palazzo DP are now 6 years old and even though the tread is still good I have had some bad experience with tires of that age before so I am starting to look for new ones. The Goodyear RV tires don't look that much different from steering tires and the only comment that I could find about using steering tires on a class A was this: " 4 YEARS AGO. TO REPLACE MY MICHELLINE WAS $725.00 each. local truck tire dealer suggested Goodyear G395 MODEL TRUCK STEERING TIRES. FOR $410.00 each installed. Little stiffer side wall but my 40 foot sportscoach handels 300% better than with mushy michellins."

Based on that I am thinking of including steering tires in my search, my neighbor can get me fleet pricing on them. What do you guys think?

My current tires are 255/70 R22.5 Goodyear G670. I am not hung up on Goodyear. While these tires have been good I have experienced random premature sidewall cracking on other vehicles equipped with Goodyear tires.
10 REPLIES 10

tropical36
Explorer
Explorer
Groover wrote:
The tires on my Palazzo DP are now 6 years old and even though the tread is still good I have had some bad experience with tires of that age before so I am starting to look for new ones. The Goodyear RV tires don't look that much different from steering tires and the only comment that I could find about using steering tires on a class A was this: " 4 YEARS AGO. TO REPLACE MY MICHELLINE WAS $725.00 each. local truck tire dealer suggested Goodyear G395 MODEL TRUCK STEERING TIRES. FOR $410.00 each installed. Little stiffer side wall but my 40 foot sportscoach handels 300% better than with mushy michellins."

Based on that I am thinking of including steering tires in my search, my neighbor can get me fleet pricing on them. What do you guys think?