cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

2004 Winnebago Sightseer Hood Lock Frustration

flasteve1957
Explorer
Explorer
I am a newbie, had our rig for 3 weeks now. Although I watched the guy I bought it from open the hood easily, that was 3 weeks ago. I went to do it today myself. Easier said than done. Counterclockwise unlocks it, and then out and up. Cant budge it, and now there is a 1/4 inch gap at the top that I can't get back in place to seal it correctly. Although I can still lock it. I was told not to try and pry it, I did , only a little not enough to cause any bending breaking of the fiberglass etc. I will easily listen to reason, being 61 years od age.

Thanks,
Steve
4 REPLIES 4

flasteve1957
Explorer
Explorer
I wasn't concerned with theft, just cinching the hood at the top where there is a gap. The scissor mechanism is not perfect I realize, I just thought the elements will get in it if its 1/4 to 1/2 inch from butting up to it.

eadeal55
Explorer
Explorer
14 years, never locked my hood. I've got a key for the barrel locks somewhere, but why bother. Only thing worth stealing under the hood is a $200 battery, and someone will tear up $1000 worth of hood and grill to get to it if the hood is locked.
Andy & Lee + Molly, the 4 lb Chihuahua
2020 Tiffin Wayfarer 25RW...towing a
2007 Chevy HHR LT2 w/2.4L EcoTec,
Blue Ox Aventa LX, Brake Buddy Classic
FMCA #F359977 - Colonial Virginians, Past President 2012-14, 2018

Y-Guy
Steve,

I have an 07, mine uses the barrel type of key for the hood. I use the key itself to pull the hood open by angling it up or down a bit. If it's like my hood there are a couple of "feet" that help to stop so it's flush with the front of the Coach. But there isn't a lot of adjustment to address the spacing around the edges. Here are a couple links to photos of mine so you can see what mine looks like. The second photo shows the gap at the top better.

Hoo2 Photo 1
Hood Photo 2