cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Bad Lands/Black Hills/ Yellowstone Vacation

RedLionCookie
Explorer
Explorer
I'm starting to plan our summer vacation and I'm looking for advice/recommendations. My wife and I are in our 50's and it's just her and I and the dog. We live in PA and I'm a high school teacher. My wife works in the insurance business. I obviously have more vacation time than she does.

Here's my rough plan. The dog and I are going to leave Pa on Sunday June 30th and head west.

My wife will catch a flight and catch up with us in Rapid City on Wednesday July 3rd. I've heard the rodeo in Belle Fouche on the 4th of July is really nice. We are planning on attending that. After that we don't have any specific plans other than we want to visit Mt. Rushmore, The Bad Lands, The Black Hills and then move on to Yellowstone.

I will put my wife on a plan to head home on either Friday the 12th or Saturday the 13th. Not sure if she will fly home from Rapid City or Salt Lake.

So I'm looking for recommendations.
How much time should we plan to spend in SD before moving on to Yellowstone?
Would you recommend we stay in one campground in SD or should I plan on moving once or twice?

Where do you recommend we stay in SD?

What is the best way to see Yellowstone? I know that is vague but if you can give me some ideas I would appeciate it.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Dave
21 REPLIES 21

bigred1cav
Explorer
Explorer
I would fly over and meet in Pt Townsend Wa. I think you would decide to move there once you visit.. We live in Ohio and travel to Olympic Pen as often as possible stayed 5 months last summer.

RedLionCookie
Explorer
Explorer
Update.....

First of all thank you all for the great advice. I feel like you've pointed me in the right direction and I'm on my way.

Over the weekend I made my reservations.

Here is what I got:

July 3-5 - Spearfish/Black Hills KOA

July 5-8 Rafter J Bar Ranch Campground