Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: Registering a Truck in California
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> Registering a Truck in California

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
adamis

Northern California

View Profile

Posted: 02/25/19 10:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

After many years as a happy Nevada resident, I was finally forced to change over to California for my vehicle registrations. I had two vehicles to register, my 2001 VW Jetta TDI with 330k miles (and just finished a nearly full rebuild of the engine) which the state of California demanded $160 to register it. This was nearly twice what I paid in Nevada. Then my 1999 F350 Truck to which I was initially told would cost $180 but then they demanded another $160 because it was a "commercial vehicle". It appears that California congress critters have taken it upon themselves to deliver some of the highest registration fees (and fuel taxes) while providing us some of the worst roads in the country. Considering that California has some of the nicest weather in the country, there is no excuse for our roads to be falling apart! I should consider myself fortunate that my truck is 20 years old because looking around the inter-webs, it appears that new truck buyers are paying close to $900 to register their truck each year in California???

End of my rant and back to my topic... So it appears there is an exception to the commercial vehicle status in that if you have a camper permanently mounted on the vehicle, you can qualify for an exemption for the added fee. I fit this bill as my camper stays on my truck year round.