Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Thor Freedom elite axxera can radio not working.
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes  >  Class C

 > Thor Freedom elite axxera can radio not working.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Stillhitchedngoing

Grand Rapids

New Member

Joined: 03/23/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/23/19 10:08am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello all! First trip out and while spent a lot of time getting to know our rig, we are confused as to why our cab radio system, Axxera isn’t working. It has our back up camera so we would really like to find the problem. So far we’ve made sure our battery dial by the coach door is set to on. Everything else working on battery power is running fine. Battery guage on the control panel shows full. We can’t seem to locate a cab to coach battery switch if such exists. Please help! Thanks

MDKMDK

Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 10/15/2008

View Profile



Posted: 03/23/19 10:51am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sometimes it's as simple as increasing the volume. Our built in dash rearcam/radio combo is on all the time, but we can mute it by reducing the volume to zero, when we aren't listening to it.


Mike.
2018 (2017 Sprinter Cab Chassis) Navion24V + 2016 JKU (sold @ ????)
2016 Sunstar 26HE, V10, 3V, 6 Speed (sold @ 4600 miles)
2002 Roadtrek C190P (sold @ 315,000kms)

Healeyman

Carrollton, TX

Senior Member

Joined: 09/08/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 03/23/19 01:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Basically, EVERYTHING in front of the drivers & passenger seat backs works from a CHASSIS battery which is under the vehicle hood.

EVERYTHING behind the drivers and passenger seat backs works off of a HOUSE battery which us usually found under the step in the entry way. There is probably a big rubber latch on the front of one of the steps.

The round power switch by the door switches on and off the HOUSE battery and those things on the indicator panel. That switch has nothing to do with the VEHICLE systems.

Your in-dash radio and camera system will be powered by the VEHICLE power system.

I cannot tell you what the problem is, but if the radio doesn't light up you probably have a total radio power failure (nothing works) it is most probably a fuse, either in the CHASSIS fuse box or in-line in the dash behind the radio. It also may be a bad ground between the vehicle chassis and the radio itself.

You will probably have to take it to an RV dealer or RV repair place.

If the radio DOES light up, the problem is probably a menu setting. On my Coachmen Freelander, except in Reverse, I have to press a button to activate the rear camera.

I hope I have helped. Sorry I couldn't have helped more.

Tim





bobndot

USA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/21/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/23/19 01:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Google the Axxera and model # to help you find a possible solution.

Is it the model with the blue button that you need to push and hold for it to turn on/off.
As said, check the radio fuse and its location as per the trucks owners manual.

I had to swap out my OEM radio because the screen was blinking .
The Ford warranty covered it but I upgraded to a DVD/navigation Panasonic and its a much better radio.

Someone on the Thor forum had the same issue and had to reset the radio by pulling it out of the dash, unplugging the power connector at the rear of the radio and that reset it to enable it to work.

* This post was edited 03/23/19 02:00pm by bobndot *

Stillhitchedngoing

Grand Rapids

New Member

Joined: 03/23/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/24/19 09:57am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We found it! After reading the manual for the Axxera, we found there is a TINY reset button on the upper left corner that you have to push with a pin because it's inset. After pushing it then pushing the larger on/off/volume button, it kicked on. Thought I would put it out here in the event that happens to anyone else. Thanks everyone!

bobndot

USA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/21/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/24/19 10:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

[emoticon] Having a pinhole reset is sure handy. Glad you were able to find an easy fix.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes  >  Class C

 > Thor Freedom elite axxera can radio not working.
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.