cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Windows 10 run as Administrator

TenOC
Nomad
Nomad
I have upgraded from Windows 7 to Windows 10. I am listed as an Administrator user yet Windows 10 keep asking "to run as administrator". How do I get W10 to understand that I am an administrator.
Please give me enough troubles, uncertainty, problems, obstacles and STRESS so that I do not become arrogant, proud, and smug in my own abilities, and enough blessings and good times that I realize that someone else is in charge of my life.

Travel Photos
11 REPLIES 11

AllegroD
Nomad
Nomad
j3ff9ack wrote:
T18skyguy wrote:
When you make yourself an administrator, it puts you at risk somehow? Can someone explain how that happens?

If you run as administrator all the time, and you happen to visit a malicious web site or open an e-mail with a malicious attachment, the malicious code then executes with administrative privileges and can easily exploit your entire computer and others on your home network.

If you run with normal user privileges and do the same thing, the malicious code only has your user privileges and the amount of damage is minimized due to the lower privilege.

This is much more important when you are on a corporate network with thousands of other computers than if you are just at home, but the same principle applies

X2

j3ff9ack
Explorer
Explorer
T18skyguy wrote:
When you make yourself an administrator, it puts you at risk somehow? Can someone explain how that happens?

If you run as administrator all the time, and you happen to visit a malicious web site or open an e-mail with a malicious attachment, the malicious code then executes with administrative privileges and can easily exploit your entire computer and others on your home network.

If you run with normal user privileges and do the same thing, the malicious code only has your user privileges and the amount of damage is minimized due to the lower privilege.