Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: genset will not start from remote switches
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

 > genset will not start from remote switches

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Gjac

Milford, CT

Senior Member

Joined: 08/16/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/06/19 08:10am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a Kohler 5ckm21 genset it will start from the switch on the genset itself but not from the switch above the stove or the dash board. When the genset is running the light come on the switch on the dash and both switches will shut off the generator, but neither switch will start the generator. Any ideas of what is happening here?

MountainAir05

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 01/27/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/06/19 08:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Do you mean it will not turn over from the other two switches or it will not run.

DrewE

Vermont

Senior Member

Joined: 08/23/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/06/19 08:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Offhand, it sounds like a loose or broken wire somewhere in the connection between the switches and the generator. I would check the control connectors at the generator first if they're reasonably accessible.





Gjac

Milford, CT

Senior Member

Joined: 08/16/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/06/19 08:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MountainAir05 wrote:

Do you mean it will not turn over from the other two switches or it will not run.
It will not turn over.

ksg5000

Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 06/30/2008

View Profile



Posted: 04/06/19 08:49am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If it's like my Onan you might check/clean the connections to the board on the generator.


Kevin

Gjac

Milford, CT

Senior Member

Joined: 08/16/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/06/19 09:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ksg5000 wrote:

If it's like my Onan you might check/clean the connections to the board on the generator.
That is the first think I did, but it did not help. The thing that is confusing is both switches work to shut the genset down but only the one on the genset itself works to start and stop.

STBRetired

I-80 and I-55

Senior Member

Joined: 11/23/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 04/06/19 09:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Here is the diagram from my Onan generator.
[image]
[image]
Note that the switch will just momentarily connect ground to either RMT START or RMT STOP. You may simply have a broken RMT START wire somewhere between the junction at the generator and the junction where the 2 switches come together.


1999 Newmar MACA 3796 F53 6.8L
2016 Ford Edge Sport
Roadmaster Sterling A/T with Brake Buddy Select


tropical36

Southwest Florida_USA

Senior Member

Joined: 07/11/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/06/19 10:53am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Gjac wrote:

I have a Kohler 5ckm21 genset it will start from the switch on the genset itself but not from the switch above the stove or the dash board. When the genset is running the light come on the switch on the dash and both switches will shut off the generator, but neither switch will start the generator. Any ideas of what is happening here?

I'm thinking remote cable connector.
Try unplugging it from the genset for inspection and for plugging in and out for cleaning it up a bit. Maybe for a silicone grease coating, as well.


"We are often so caught up in our destination that we forget to appreciate the journey."

07 Revolution LE 40E_Spartan MM_06 400HP C9 CAT_Allison 3000.

Dinghy_2010 Jeep Wrangler JKU ISLANDER.

1998 36ft. National Tropi-Cal Chevy Model 6350 (Sold)


zigzagrv

Nazareth, PA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/06/19 11:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Had the same problem. Was a broken wire coming out of the harness at the generator. I would guess that is the problem with yours since neither remote switches work.


Ron

2003 Gulf Stream Ultra Supreme 33'
F53 Class A
Master Tow dolly
Toyota RAV4


Gjac

Milford, CT

Senior Member

Joined: 08/16/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/06/19 01:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

zigzagrv wrote:

Had the same problem. Was a broken wire coming out of the harness at the generator. I would guess that is the problem with yours since neither remote switches work.
Where did you find the break? I tried tracing the wires from the circuit board up front to the switch but lost it very quickly in a harness of wires.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

 > genset will not start from remote switches
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS