Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Norcold Refrigerator
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

 > Norcold Refrigerator

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Gazelle05

Gig Harbor,Wa

Full Member

Joined: 01/22/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/15/19 07:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

One the road back to Washington from Palm Springs only to find out refer won’t run on propane. Keeps throwing error code No Fl. Which means no fuel flow. Tried bleeding the line several times . Lights but won’t stay lit more than 30 seconds.
Any suggestions would be helpful. Don’t want to run generator all the way home.
Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

dave17352

Ne

Senior Member

Joined: 09/20/2004

View Profile



Posted: 04/15/19 07:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

That sounds like a thermal coupler gone bad. It has to get and stay hot to keep the gas flowing. If is bad the gas shuts off. JMHO


2005 Forrest River Cardinal 29rkle FW
1998 Lance 980 11'3" TC
2017 CHEVY 3500 SRW 6.0
[email protected] turnover ball @ companion Hitch
Honda eu3000 generator mounted on cargo rack
50 gal aux tank
Crestliner 1850 Fish Ski boat mostly fishing now!
Renogy 200 Watt solar

jorbill2or

Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 10/02/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/15/19 07:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bad thermocouple or a bad / clogged burner . I had the same problem .. kinda ... it ran but for a couple minutes. I ordered a new burner and thermocouple .. replaced the thermocouple first and that was it. The burner holes and jet can also become clogged. Thermocouple was 15 bucks , burner about $40 I think. Good luck !


Bill

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 04/15/19 11:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OP has a 2005 MH ----doubt fridge would use a 'thermocouple'

Spark Electrode YES

'no FL'....Burner failed to ignite/re-ignite

Flame proving signal is NOT being recognized by circuit board
Could be flame is not lighting off..dirty/clogged orifice or burner slots
Could be flame lights but flame signal is not being sensed by spark electrode cause it is dirty (soot/carbon)
Could be dirty/corroded spark electrode wire connection
Could be cracked ceramic insulator on spark electrode


Need to run fridge in AUTO on AC Power
Then go outside ...remove cover...expose burner...then unplug fridge AC Power Cord
Fridge will then swap to GAS and you can observe what is happening at burner
Sparks, Doesn't spark, Lights, Doesn't light etc


Is it time for your medication or mine?


2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
On the Road Debt Free April '07
Off the road still Debt Free Jan. '14

dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/16/19 05:28am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No FL----NO FLAME
If it lights but will not stay lit, it is either the Electrode which is also the Flame sensor or the Main control board. 99 percent of the time it is a Bad Electrode. Until you get it fixed there is no way to go around the system to keep the flame lit. Doug

Executive

California/Arizona/South Dakota

Senior Member

Joined: 02/07/2008

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 04/16/19 10:07am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Maybe you're just out of propane... [emoticon]....Dennis


A Simple Act of Caring Creates an Endless Ripple
Dennis and Debi Ten Years Full Timing
Monaco Executive M-45PBQ Quad Slide
525HP Cummins ISM 6 Spd Allison
2014 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ W/ ReadyBrute
CLICK HERE TO VIEW OUR TRAVEL BLOG



diplomatdon

Blaine, WA

Full Member

Joined: 08/31/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/16/19 11:38am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I had issue of fridge not running on propane. Didn't notice code but on inspection there were large flakes of rust in burner tube. Quick vacuum job and all was well. Good luck and let us know what your problem was.

Seattle Steve

Tucson

Senior Member

Joined: 09/18/2010

View Profile



Posted: 04/16/19 04:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you don't want to mess around with it now, just get a few blocks of ice and open the refrigerator as little as possible until you get home.

Gazelle05

Gig Harbor,Wa

Full Member

Joined: 01/22/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/18/19 09:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for all the suggestions, turned out to be a bad control panel.
All is working.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

 > Norcold Refrigerator
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.