cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Revmax 68RFE Transmission Cooler Thermostatic Bypass

ShinerBock
Explorer
Explorer
My re-builder recommended this upgrade when I had my custom trans built. I have been running it for several months now and finally had a chance to tow with it in. All I can say is wow. This is a must have mod for those who tow with their 68RFE even with a completely stock truck if you are seeing high trans temps.

Those that own a 68RFE know that it is notorious for running hotter than most other transmissions. I used to think that it was due to design until I replaced my thermostatic bypass valve with this Revmax one which is advertised to improve flow to the cooler by over 80% and decreases trans temps by as much as 50F. I can attest that it decreased the temps by as much as 30F empty and 20F towing in my truck.

The stock one purposely reduced flow to the cooler in order get the trans temps hotter quicker in colder weather. The problem is that many times it gets stuck or partially stuck in this closed position causing temps to spike inside the trans. Not only that, but the stock valve itself is a very restrictive bottleneck. My re-builder started recommending these bypass valves after seeing several of them fail causing the transmission to fail.

68RFE Transmission Cooler Thermostatic Bypass Upgrade
2014 Ram 2500 6.7L CTD
2016 BMW 2.0L diesel (work and back car)
2023 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 3.0L Ecodiesel

Highland Ridge Silverstar 378RBS
24 REPLIES 24

cummins2014
Explorer
Explorer
ShinerBock wrote:
cummins2014 wrote:

How close do you watch it ? Towing mine always seems to be in the 170's. But for $119 , why not ?. Can it hurt ???????