Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Direct TV DVR
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Direct TV DVR

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
chuckbear

Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 06/07/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/11/19 08:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you're disconnected from the dish you will get the 775 error and the receiver will stop there. You need to keep the dish connected while the receiver is going through the setup. Never mind if it is pointing to anything. Wait until it goes through the entire process and it will start receiving satellite info and immediately give you searching for a satellite. When that happens you can hit the menu button and go to recordings. It will not work without the dish attached and the power inserter on to feed the LNB. Chuck

3940wez12

Florida

New Member

Joined: 03/02/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/12/19 07:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bill.Satellite wrote:

What receiver are you using a power inserter? If so, have you tried it connected and disconnected from the PI? Grabbing at straws here!


It's a Genie 3, HR54-500. Dunno about the power inserter unless that's the black box on the electric cord?


2011 Keystone Springdale
2015 Dodge Ram 1500 5.7l Hemi


3940wez12

Florida

New Member

Joined: 03/02/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/12/19 08:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

chuckbear wrote:

It will not work without the dish attached and the power inserter on to feed the LNB. Chuck


It worked 2 months ago without the dish attached and we've used it for several years that way. Just take the box, connect to the TV with HDMI cable and watch previously recorded programs.

3940wez12

Florida

New Member

Joined: 03/02/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/12/19 08:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Interestingly enough, I can go to Menu/Manage Recordings/Recording History and go thru them one by one, all 800 of them including those cancelled or deleted, and select one to watch. Takes forever.

2oldman

Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 05/12/19 09:57am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

chuckbear wrote:

It will not work without the dish attached and the power inserter on to feed the LNB. Chuck
Incorrect...unless there's been a change in the last month.

chuckbear

Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 06/07/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/12/19 05:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

2oldman wrote:

chuckbear wrote:

It will not work without the dish attached and the power inserter on to feed the LNB. Chuck
Incorrect...unless there's been a change in the last month.


It will only work that way for us and has been that way for a couple of years. Having said that, it may very well depend on what receiver you are using. Our HR24-200 will hit the 775 error immediately if it isn't connected to the dish and we can not go any further with the receiver. Chuck

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 05/13/19 07:40am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

3940wez12 wrote:

Interestingly enough, I can go to Menu/Manage Recordings/Recording History and go thru them one by one, all 800 of them including those cancelled or deleted, and select one to watch. Takes forever.

In the past this could be cured if you never disconnected power during antenna disconnect. You would need to have the receiver on an inverter and ensure no power interruption during travel but it sounds like DTV has made another software "update". You really have just a Genie (3rd generation). There is also a Genie 2 which is quite different.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

2oldman

Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 05/13/19 08:32am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

chuckbear wrote:

it may very well depend on what receiver you are using. Our HR24-200 will hit the 775 error immediately if it isn't connected to the dish and we can not go any further with the receiver. Chuck
Evidently, but that seems weird. Years ago my HD receiver (can't find it on new ATT site.. they've changed everything.. what a mess) would work fine sans antenna. Then suddenly it wouldn't. I complained, a lot. Finally, perhaps a year later, it started working again.

The signal beeps were finally brought back to the HD receivers, that took years.

I just went on the Directv website, and what a mess. I wanted to find my receiver model and after 10 minutes I gave up. The search bar seems to be a waste.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/13/19 08:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bill.Satellite wrote:

You really have just a Genie (3rd generation). There is also a Genie 2 which is quite different.
Yup DTV has 2nd and 3rd generation receivers. Then they introduced the Genie-2 HS17 tower model to create confusion.

Some receivers supply the required power to the dish and others require a power inserter. Some have 120V power plug while others have a power brick.

My HR44 has a power inserter that supplies power to the receiver and has coax connections so that it also supplies power to the dish.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/13/19 10:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

2oldman wrote:

I just went on the Directv website, and what a mess. I wanted to find my receiver model and after 10 minutes I gave up. The search bar seems to be a waste.
Several years ago DTV focused the website on sales/programming and make finding any technical information more difficult.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Direct TV DVR
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS