cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

De-laminating

Big_steve
Explorer
Explorer
Greenhorn here. Yesterday I turned down buying an RV at a great price because it had a small amount of de-lamination on the driver side rear. It was clear that the roof had been recently repaired, so for arguments sake, let's assume there is no more leakage. There was nothing to see inside on the ceiling, wall or floor. Did I do the right thing? I've read de-lamination is a terrible-terrible issue to be avoided in a used RV at all costs.

I'm second guessing myself, as the rest of the RV is in very nice shape, and the miles are reasonable. 68 K on a Ford V-10 since 2011. I'm not going to run right back and put a deposit down anyway. Just wanting to hear opinions about delamination.

Thanks.
11 REPLIES 11

ol__yeller
Explorer II
Explorer II
I would never consider an RV with delamination no matter what the price is.
I am NOT a mechanic although I do play one in my garage!

valhalla360
Nomad II
Nomad II
Big_steve wrote:
valhalla360 wrote:
Without knowing how good of a deal, we can't tell you.

Realistically most fiberglass RV's over 5yr old have at least a little delamination (go walk around a park some time).

It's it's minor, has been sealed and you get a good price accounting for it go for it. Otherwise, you will have to go new and will still have some in a few years.

Now if it's a lot and you can see issue inside, that's a different ballgame.

NADA 48,000
Best listed price I saw nationwide was 39K
This one is listed at 30K Miles are 68K On a Ford V-10 engine.

If you like it otherwise, I would pay an RV tech a couple hundred to do a detailed pre-purchase inspection with a focus on that area.

Assuming small is say under 1 sft, if there aren't bigger issues hidden inside, you can most certainly fix or at least stabilize for a lot less than $9k.
Tammy & Mike
Ford F250 V10
2021 Gray Wolf
Gemini Catamaran 34'
Full Time spliting time between boat and RV